History of the No. 4: From Rex White to Kevin Harvick

External News Wire | 11/30/15

Author: Jay Pennell

Date: Nov. 28, 2015

While Stewart-Haas Racing's Kevin Harvick has been making the No. 4 famous in NASCAR today, the number has a long history in the Sprint Cup Series. 

Harvick piloted the No. 4 to his first NASCAR Sprint Cup title in 2014, but he is not the only driver to carry the number to a championship. NASCAR Hall of Famer Rex White drove the No. 4 to his first NASCAR Premier Series championship in 1960, winning six races and beating fellow Hall of Famer Richard Petty for the title. 

Aside from Harvick and White, a host of other drivers have driven the No. 4 throughout NASCAR history.

Here are some facts about the iconic number:

To view this article as it appares on, click here

Next News Story →

← Previous News Story