Ricky Carmichael Makes Truck Series Debut at Daytona


Ricky Carmichael will make his debut in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) Friday evening at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway in the 10th-annual running of the NextEra Energy Resources 250. Carmichael, the most successful motocross racer in history, will drive the No. 4 Monster Energy Silverado for the KHI All-Star Team in at least 14 truck events during the 2009 season.

In the history of the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA), no other rider has won as many championships (15) and races (150) as Carmichael, a 29-year-old resident of Tallahassee, Fla., earning him the nickname the GOAT (Greatest of All-Time). Carmichael was a record five-time AMA “Rider of the Year.”

The Florida native has five victories at Daytona in the AMA Supercross category – more than any other rider in history.

“I’m having so much fun” said Carmichael about his new vocation. “I understand my place – I’m here to learn and to earn respect from the other racers. But, I’m also putting 100 percent into this effort and my first goal is to finish the race. We need to gain the experience and the only way to do so is to get laps. I won a lot of races in motocross by being smart, and that’s the attitude I’m taking here. To be smart means not trying to be a hero and taking myself out of the race early on. That wouldn’t help anyone: myself, the team or our sponsors.

“I don’t know exactly how to describe the feeling of being at Daytona,” said Carmichael. “I’ve had so much success here, it’s just an amazing feeling coming through the tunnel and being here to race – no matter if it’s a car, truck or motorcycle. It’s awesome to be here and it’s always been like a home track for me.”

The No. 33 KHI team is led by crew chief Billy Wilburn, a veteran of many years in the NASCAR Sprint Cup series.


Ricky Carmichael designed the track for this year’s AMA Supercross race at Daytona on March 7. The track snakes through the grass in the tri-oval area of the Speedway. He also designed last year’s Supercross course.


Monster Energy supports the sport, no matter how radical or extreme. Be it Ricky Carmichael’s high-speed, high-banked NASCAR racing program, supercross, rally, insane distance jumping, motocross, MotoGP, roadracing, supermoto, off-road, freestyle motocross, skate, MTB, rock crawling, wake, mini bikes, surf, snow, BMX – the list goes on – the athletes that participate in these unique forms of athleticism are sparked by Monster Energy. Available in Original Monster Energy, Monster Lo-Carb, Monster Assault, Monster Khaos, Monster’s fruit juice hybrid dubbed “M-80,” the party-friendly MIXXD, the ground-breaking Java Monster premium coffee & cream drink line (supercharged with our Monster Energy blend), as well as the new Monster Energy “Hitman” energy shot, there’s something for everyone. Wherever they go, Monster Energy beverages power the Monster Army of athletes. Be sure to check out their never-ending series of adventures at and

Kevin Harvick Inc. (KHI), established in 2001, is a 70,000 sq. ft. facility located in Kernersville, N.C. KHI houses two full-time Truck Series teams, including the 2007 series champions, the No. 33 Chevrolet Silverado driven by three-time Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday and the No. 4 KHI All-Stars Chevrolet Silverado driven by Ricky Carmichael and a variety of NASCAR Sprint Cup stars. KHI is also home to the No. 33 Chevrolet Impala competing full-time in the Nationwide Series, with drivers Kevin Harvick (a two-time Nationwide Series champion), Hornaday and Cale Gale. The 2009 season marks KHI’s sixth year of full-time competition in NASCAR’s elite divisions.

Ricky Carmichael
Camping World Truck Series
Stats:      First career start in the Camping World Truck Series
Truck:      No. 4 KHI All-Stars Chevrolet Silverado
Sponsor:  Monster Energy
Chassis:  No. 31 (Brand-new chassis)
Race Date: Friday, Feb. 13       100 laps / 250 miles
Start: 8:00 p.m. ET
TV: SPEED-TV / 7:30 p.m. ET


Ricky Carmichael
2009 Scheduled Starts
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

February 13   Daytona
February 21     California
April 25         Kansas
June 5         Texas
June 19         Milwaukee
June 27         Memphis
July 18         Kentucky
July 24         Indianapolis
August 1       Nashville
August 29     Chicago
September 5   Iowa
September 12 St. Louis
September 26 Las Vegas
October 31     Talladega

Next News Story →

← Previous News Story