One Fan to Ride Shotgun with Kevin Harvick in 2009 Pennzoil Victory Challenge


Pennzoil is taking the excitement around the 2009 Pennzoil Victory Challenge to an even higher level by allowing one lucky fan the chance of a lifetime to ride shotgun with Kevin Harvick in the 2009 Pennzoil Victory Challenge. The second annual event is set for May 16, 2009 at Lowe’s Motor Speedway (LMS) as part of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race pre-event festivities.

The Pennzoil Victory Challenge is NASCAR’s version of a “slam dunk contest”. However this contest features the sport’s top talent showing off their abilities in post-race-win celebrations in classic NASCAR smoking donut style. 

One fan who enters Pennzoil’s online contest will be randomly selected to ride “shotgun” during the Pennzoil Victory Challenge with Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 29 Pennzoil Chevrolet and 2007 NASCAR Sprint All-Star champion.  The Pennzoil Victory Challenge “Ride Shotgun Sweepstakes” online promotion runs from April 1st through May 1st at  Fans can log on to register and get complete contest rules.  No purchase necessary.

“We’re excited to bring this event to the fans of NASCAR,” said Troy Chapman, Marketing Director, Pennzoil. “As race fans know, it takes a clean-running engine to make it to Victory Lane. And when your engine’s running clean you feel it.

The driver lineup has been expanded from five drivers to seven, and like in 2008, each driver will compete in identically prepared stock cars.  However, this year the new format allows each driver a longer freestyle demonstration, and the panel of judges will score their creativity.  The driver with the highest score from the panel will be declared the winner, with $10,000 awarded to the driver’s designated charity and a reserved spot in the 2010 Pennzoil Victory Challenge. 

The field of drivers vying to be named “King of the Post-Win-Celebration” and winner of the Pennzoil Victory Challenge is impressive this year. 

Joining the first driver announced, Harvick, driver of No. 29 Pennzoil Chevrolet – 11 time NSCS winner; 2007 Daytona 500 winner; 2007 NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race winner; Two-time NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) champion and 2009 Budweiser Shootout winner, will be:

Greg Biffle, No. 16 Roush Fenway Racing Ford – winner of the 2008 Pennzoil Victory Challenge; 14-time NSCS race winner; 2002 NNS Champion; 1998 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) Champion

Clint Bowyer, No. 33 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet – Two-time NSCS race winner; 2008 NNS champion

Kyle Busch, No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota – 14-time NSCS winner, set a record for victories in NASCAR’s top three series in 2008 with 21 wins across NASCAR’s top three series, has more victories in last two seasons than any other driver

Jeff Gordon, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet – four-time NSCS champion; 82 NSCS wins, 67 NSCS poles; sixth (6th) on the NSCS win list; three (3) time Daytona 500 winner; three (3) time All-Star race winner

Kasey Kahne No. 9 Richard Petty Motorsports Dodge – Winner of 2008 Sprint All-Star Race; nine (9) time NSCS winner including 2008 Coca Cola 600 at LMS;

In addition, be sure to tune in to Trackside LIVE on SPEED on Friday, April 24th as Kevin Harvick extends a special invitation to one mystery driver to participate in the Pennzoil Victory Challenge. 

“It’s fun anytime you get to do something a little different at the racetrack,” said Biffle.  “I mean, tell me what’s not fun about doing a burnout?  When I won the competition last year, Nicole and I were able to use the donation to our charity to help several needy pet shelters and humane societies across the country.”

The Pennzoil Victory Challenge will be televised live during SPEED’s pre-race coverage on Saturday, May 16th prior to the NASCAR Sprint Showdown and NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. 

About Pennzoil®
Pennzoil® is the #1-selling motor oil and one of the most trusted brands in America. The Pennzoil line of quality products meets or exceeds industry specifications to offer exceptional engine protection, and includes Pennzoil Platinum® Full Synthetic motor oil, Pennzoil® Advanced Protection motor oil, Pennzoil® SUV, Truck & Minivan motor oil, Pennzoil High Mileage Vehicle® motor oil, and Pennzoil Marine® engine oil. For more information about Pennzoil products, please visit

Pennzoil is produced and marketed by Shell Lubricants. The term ‘Shell Lubricants’ collectively refers to the operating companies of the Shell Group that are engaged in the lubricants business. Shell Lubricants companies lead the lubricants industry, supplying 13% of global lubricants volume1. The companies manufacture and blend products for use in applications ranging from consumer motor oil and food processing oils to heavy industrial lubricants and commercial transport oils. The Shell Lubricants portfolio of top-quality brands includes Pennzoil®, Quaker State®, FormulaShell®, Shell TELLUS®, Shell CASSIDA®, Shell RIMULA®, Shell ROTELLA® T, and Shell SPIRAX®, a portfolio of car care brands and Jiffy Lube® lubrication services.

Next News Story →

← Previous News Story