Harvick to Start 21st at Daytona

Pre-Race Reports | NASCAR Cup Series | 07/01/16

Qualifying for the Coke Zero 400 powered by Coca-Cola

Date: July 1, 2016

Event: Qualifying for the Coke Zero 400 powered by Coca-Cola (Round 17 of 36)

Series: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Location: Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway (2.5-mile oval)

Pole Winner: Greg Biffle of Roush Fenway Racing(46.643 seconds at 192.955 mph)

SHR Lineup:       

Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 41 Monster Energy/Haas Automation Chevrolet SS, led the four-car Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) contingent Friday at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway by setting the 10th-fastest lap in qualifying for Sunday’s Coke Zero 400 powered by Coca-Cola NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race. Busch turned a lap of 46.908 seconds at 191.865 mph on the 2.5-mile superspeedway in the final qualifying round.

Qualifying consisted of two rounds of single-car qualifying, with drivers getting one timed green-flag lap per round. The fastest 12 drivers from the first round advanced to the final round of qualifying where they battled for the pole. Positions 1-12 were set by speeds in the final round, while the remaining 40-car field was set by speeds posted by those who did not advance past the first round.

Tony Stewart, driver of the No. 14 Bass Pro Shops/Ducks Unlimited Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 19th with a time of 47.202 seconds at 190.670 mph.

Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Busch Beer Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 21st with a time of 47.258 seconds at 190.444 mph.

Danica Patrick, driver of the No. 10 Nature’s Bakery Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 22nd with a time of 47.259 seconds at 190.440 mph.

Greg Biffle led the final round of knockout qualifying by taking the pole with a lap of 46.643 seconds at 192.955 mph. It was his 13th career Sprint Cup pole, his second at Daytona and his first of the season.

Carl Edwards will start on the outside of row one after clocking in at 46.693 seconds at 192.748 mph.

The 10 other drivers who made it to the final round of qualifying were Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Brad Keselowski, Austin Dillon, Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney. All are listed in the order they’ll start the race.

The Coke Zero 400 powered by Coca-Cola gets underway at 7 p.m. EDT on Saturday with live coverage provided by NBC.


Next News Story →

← Previous News Story