Harvick to Start 11th at Kansas

Pre-Race Reports | NASCAR Cup Series | 10/14/16


Qualifying for the Hollywood Casino 400

Date:  Oct. 14, 2016

Event:  Qualifying for the Hollywood Casino 400 (Round 31 of 36)

Series:  NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Location:  Kansas Speedway in Kansas City (1.5-mile oval)

Pole Winner:  Matt Kenseth of Joe Gibbs Racing (28.112 seconds at 192.089 mph)

SHR Lineup:

Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Outback Steakhouse Chevrolet SS, led the four-car Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) contingent Friday at Kansas Speedway in Kansas City by setting the 11th-fastest lap in qualifying for Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race. Harvick turned a lap of 28.484 seconds at 189.580 mph on the 1.5-mile oval in the final qualifying round.

Qualifying consisted of three rounds. The first was 20 minutes, with every driver on the track vying to set the fastest lap. The 24 fastest drivers from the first round advanced to the second, 10-minute round and the fastest 12 drivers from that session advanced to the final, five-minute round where they battled for the pole. Positions 1-12 were set by speeds in the final round. Positions 13-24 were set by speeds in the second round. The remaining 40-car field was set by speeds posted by those who did not advance past the first round.

Tony Stewart, driver of the No. 14 Code 3 Associates/Mobil 1 Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 14th with a time of 28.430 seconds at 189.940 mph.

Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 41 Monster Energy/Haas Automation Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 15th with a time of 28.455 seconds at 189.773 mph.

Danica Patrick, driver of the No. 10 Nature’s Bakery Chevrolet SS for SHR, qualified 19th with a time of 28.535 seconds at 189.241 mph.

Matt Kenseth led the final round of knockout qualifying by taking the pole with a lap of 28.112 seconds at 192.089 mph. It was his 18th career Sprint Cup pole, his third at Kansas and his first of the season.

Kyle Busch will start on the outside of row one after clocking in at 28.113 seconds at 192.082 mph.

The 10 other drivers who made it to the final round of qualifying were Carl Edwards, Martin Truex Jr., Alex Bowman, Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Ryan Newman, A.J. Allmendinger, Harvick and Austin Dillon. All are listed in the order they will start the race.

The Hollywood Casino 400 gets underway at 2:15 p.m. EDT Sunday with live coverage provided by NBC.

Next News Story →

← Previous News Story