Harvick to Pilot JR Motorsports NCWTS Entry at Pocono

External News Wire | 07/23/15

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (July 23, 2015) – Kevin Harvick will drive the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet for JR Motorsports in the upcoming NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) race at Pocono (Pa.) Raceway on Aug. 1. 

The reigning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, who has tallied 90 victories across NASCAR’s top three series, will make his first NCWTS start since racing at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway twice in 2013, which was also the site of his last NCWTS win in March 2012.  The Pocono event complements the 10-race schedule the No. 00 Haas Automation team will run with its primary driver, 17-year-old Cole Custer, announced earlier this year. Kasey Kahne has also driven the No. 00 Truck this season, earning JRM’s first NCWTS victory at Charlotte Motor Speedway in May.

In 122 NCWTS starts since making his series debut as a 19-year-old in 1995, Harvick has earned 14 wins, four poles, 47 top-five and 61 top-10 finishes.  Along with an average finish of 12.6, he has led 2,387 career laps.  His only full-time season in the NCWTS came in 1999 and he earned three second-place finishes.  Harvick’s first NCWTS victory came in November 2002, driving his own truck at Phoenix International Raceway.

“I’m excited to be back in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with JRM at Pocono Raceway,” said Harvick.  “A lot has changed at Pocono with the repave, but I was fortunate enough to find Victory Lane in my last Truck Series start there and I hope we can do the same thing this time around with the Haas Automation Chevrolet.”

Custer, the youngest race winner in NASCAR national touring series history, made JRM’s NCWTS debut earlier this year at Martinsville Speedway and recorded JRM’s second NCWTS victory at Gateway (Ill.) Motorsports Park in June.  JRM’s first NCWTS win came at Charlotte in May with Kahne.  Custer will return to the seat of the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet for the Aug. 19 race at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway and will compete in four other NCWTS events in 2015.

Next News Story →

← Previous News Story